Sweet Peas

I typed up my poem, East Wall Sweet Peas, and included it below. I put video between the stanzas. My back has been bad so I have mostly been at home. Making dinner is enough of an adventure these days. Waterton will still be there when I recover.

East Wall Sweet Peas

I caught a fragrance as I went

along beside my peat bale row.

And it’s a fragrance that I know –

my sun-kissed east wall Sweet Pea scent.

The east wall’s where my Sweet Peas grow.

That wall is sunny – perfect for

my Sweet Peas. Every day there’s more.

They’re fragrant and put on a show.

My Sweet Peas pull me out the door

in morning sun when weather’s nice.

Their type is tried and true: Old Spice.

They’re common but they’re not a bore.

Their high success rate should entice

new gardeners and the very old,

since once you grow them once, you’re sold.

Old Spice is always worth the price.

Leave a comment